The National Stock Exchange of India (NSE) IPO is scheduled to open on September 17, 2026 and close on September 21, 2026, bringing one of India's most valuable market-infrastructure businesses to the public market.

The obvious way to participate is to apply directly for NSE shares in the IPO. But there is another angle that deserves attention: several Indian listed companies already own NSE shares, while a few others have meaningful indirect economic exposure through subsidiaries.

That makes the NSE IPO not only a primary-market event, but also a potential value-discovery trigger for listed names such as LIC, SBI, GIC Re, New India Assurance, ICICI Lombard, HDFC Life, Tata Investment Corporation and others.

The most important indirect case is IFCI. IFCI does not directly own the large NSE stake often associated with its name. Instead, its 52.86%-owned subsidiary Stock Holding Corporation of India Ltd (SHCIL) held about 4.44% of NSE before the offer.

In simple terms:

IFCI → SHCIL → NSE

This article separates direct ownership, indirect ownership, OFS monetisation and notional value so investors do not confuse an NSE-linked story with a guaranteed return.

NSE IPO 2026: Key Details

According to the latest offer information and reporting from Reuters, Financial Express and NSE's official offer-document page, the issue is a pure Offer for Sale.

ParticularNSE IPO 2026 detail
IPO opening dateSeptember 17, 2026
IPO closing dateSeptember 21, 2026
Anchor investor biddingSeptember 16, 2026
Price band₹1,700–₹1,785 per share
Shares offered12,64,36,650 shares
Offer structure100% Offer for Sale
Approximate issue size at upper band₹22,568.94 crore
Retail lot size8 shares
Minimum investment at upper band₹14,280
Implied NSE valuation at upper bandAbout ₹4.42 lakh crore
Expected listing dateSeptember 24, 2026
Proposed listing exchangeBSE

Because the IPO is entirely an OFS, NSE itself will not receive fresh capital from the offer. The proceeds will go to the shareholders selling their NSE shares.

The offer size has also been reduced from the earlier draft. Reuters reported that multiple investors cut the number of shares they planned to sell, reducing the issue from roughly 149 million shares to about 126 million shares.

Why NSE's IPO Matters to Existing Listed Shareholders

Before listing, NSE shares were an unlisted asset. The IPO creates a public-market valuation benchmark for those holdings.

That can affect existing shareholders in three different ways:

  • OFS monetisation: a shareholder that sells NSE shares receives actual cash proceeds.
  • Price discovery: a shareholder that retains NSE shares gets a clearer public-market benchmark for the asset.
  • Future liquidity: a listed NSE share can be easier to value and potentially monetise later, subject to applicable rules and lock-ins.

These are not the same thing.

A company holding NSE shares does not automatically book the entire notional value as cash or profit. Investors must distinguish between realised proceeds, unrealised market value and indirect subsidiary-level value.

Direct NSE Shareholders: The Biggest Listed Names

A DRHP-based compilation published by The Economic Times estimated that 26 entities described in the compilation as listed shareholders collectively held NSE shares worth about ₹94,619 crore at ₹1,785 per share.

The largest clearly identified direct holdings are shown below.

Listed companyNSE shares reported in DRHP-based dataIndicative value at ₹1,785 per NSE share
Life Insurance Corporation of India26.53 crore₹47,351 crore
State Bank of India7.98 crore₹14,253 crore
General Insurance Corporation of India4.07 crore₹7,265 crore
New India Assurance Company3.52 crore₹6,283 crore
ICICI Lombard General Insurance2.35 crore₹4,195 crore
Bank of Baroda2.20 crore₹3,922 crore
HDFC Life Insurance1.24 crore₹2,209 crore
Indian Bank83.75 lakh₹1,495 crore
SBI Life Insurance82.09 lakh₹1,465 crore
Tata Investment Corporation50 lakh₹892.5 crore
HDFC Bank40.56 lakh₹724 crore
JM Financial30.17 lakh₹538 crore
Punjab National Bank27.50 lakh₹491 crore
Authum Investment & Infrastructure23.58 lakh₹421 crore
Maithan AlloysNot stated in cited excerptAbout ₹736 crore
Balkrishna IndustriesNot stated in cited excerptAbout ₹572 crore
Elpro InternationalNot stated in cited excerptAbout ₹343 crore
Graphite IndiaNot stated in cited excerptAbout ₹268 crore
Motilal Oswal Financial ServicesProprietary holdingAbout ₹89 crore

The same DRHP-based compilation also names the following NSE-linked shareholders:

  • Winro Commercial (India)
  • GeeCee Ventures
  • Kiran Vyapar
  • VLS Finance
  • Saraswati Commercial (India)

For these names, the exact share counts were not reproduced in the cited public extract, so Credivant is not inventing a number.

Why Credivant does not treat all 26 names as normal investable listed stocks

The Economic Times compilation also included Shree Capital Services and Chhatisgarh Investments among the wider shareholder list.

However, current company and exchange records create an important distinction:

  • Shree Capital Services is shown as an unlisted public company in current company-status records.
  • Chhattisgarh Investments appears on the Calcutta Stock Exchange record with trading status shown as suspended, while current company databases classify the entity as unlisted.

For a retail investor looking for NSE proxy stocks that can actually be traded in the public market, these two names should therefore not be treated in the same way as LIC, SBI, NIACL, Tata Investment Corporation or other active listed shares.

IFCI and NSE: The Indirect Stake Investors Must Understand Correctly

IFCI is one of the most discussed NSE proxy stories, but the ownership structure is often explained incorrectly.

According to IFCI's FY2024-25 annual report, IFCI owns 52.86% of Stock Holding Corporation of India Ltd, making SHCIL its subsidiary.

NSE's pre-IPO shareholder information showed SHCIL with around 4.44% of NSE, or roughly 11 crore NSE shares.

The structure is therefore:

IFCI → 52.86% of SHCIL → about 4.44% of NSE before the IPO

IFCI's simple look-through exposure

A simple proportional calculation gives:

52.86% × 4.44% ≈ 2.35%

This means IFCI has an illustrative economic look-through interest equivalent to roughly 2.35% of NSE through SHCIL.

But IFCI does not legally own 2.35% of NSE directly.

That distinction matters because SHCIL is a separate company with:

  • minority shareholders;
  • its own assets and liabilities;
  • its own operating business;
  • taxes and expenses; and
  • its own capital-allocation decisions.

What was SHCIL's NSE stake worth at the upper IPO band?

If SHCIL held roughly 11 crore NSE shares before the offer, the simple notional value at the IPO price band would be:

CalculationAt ₹1,700At ₹1,785
Approximate gross value of 11 crore NSE shares₹18,700 crore₹19,635 crore
IFCI's 52.86% simple proportional look-throughAbout ₹9,885 croreAbout ₹10,379 crore

These are illustrative arithmetic values, not amounts of cash that IFCI can directly claim.

They should not be treated as IFCI's final NAV without accounting for SHCIL's other assets, liabilities, taxation, minority ownership and any holding-company discount.

SHCIL Is Also Selling NSE Shares in the IPO

The IFCI story is more interesting because SHCIL is not merely sitting on the NSE investment; it is also monetising a portion of it.

Business Standard reported that SHCIL reduced its sale quantity and is now offering about 61.9 lakh NSE shares in the revised OFS.

At the IPO price band, 61.9 lakh shares imply gross sale value of approximately:

NSE share priceGross value of SHCIL's 61.9 lakh-share OFS
₹1,700About ₹1,052 crore
₹1,785About ₹1,105 crore

Those proceeds would accrue to SHCIL, not directly to IFCI.

If the sale is completed as disclosed, SHCIL would still retain roughly 10.38 crore NSE shares from an approximate 11 crore pre-offer holding.

At ₹1,785 per share, that retained stake would have an illustrative gross value of about ₹18,530 crore.

That combination of:

  • partial monetisation;
  • a large retained NSE holding; and
  • public price discovery after listing

is the central reason the IFCI-SHCIL-NSE chain is worth monitoring.

NIACL: A Major Direct NSE Proxy With Actual Monetisation

The New India Assurance Company, or NIACL, is one of the clearest direct NSE-linked listed stocks because its holding is both large and partly being monetised.

The DRHP-based data cited by The Economic Times showed NIACL holding around 3.52 crore NSE shares, worth approximately ₹6,283 crore at ₹1,785 per share.

NDTV Profit reported that NIACL plans to sell 1.05 crore NSE shares, representing 29.83% of its NSE holding.

At the IPO price band, that sale would have an approximate gross value of:

NSE IPO priceGross value of NIACL's 1.05 crore shares
₹1,700₹1,785 crore
₹1,785₹1,874.25 crore

NIACL is therefore exposed to both:

  • real cash monetisation from shares sold in the OFS; and
  • continued valuation exposure through the NSE shares it retains.

That is a more direct catalyst than merely owning an NSE stake without selling any part of it.

LIC: The Largest Direct NSE Shareholder

LIC is the largest shareholder in NSE in the cited pre-offer data.

Its holding of approximately 26.53 crore NSE shares represents around 10.72% of NSE, with an indicative value of about ₹47,351 crore at ₹1,785 per share.

LIC is not among the major selling shareholders highlighted in the revised OFS reporting.

For LIC investors, the immediate NSE IPO story is therefore primarily about price discovery of a large investment, rather than a large one-time cash receipt from the IPO.

However, investors must compare the NSE stake with LIC's enormous investment book and overall balance sheet. A large absolute rupee value does not automatically mean the same percentage impact on LIC's own market capitalisation.

SBI: Direct Stake Plus Additional Group-Level Exposure

State Bank of India has a large direct NSE holding and additional exposure through group entities.

The DRHP-based compilation showed SBI holding about 7.98 crore NSE shares, with an indicative value of approximately ₹14,253 crore at ₹1,785 per share.

SBI is also an OFS seller.

In addition, SBI Capital Markets is a direct NSE shareholder and is a wholly owned subsidiary of SBI, according to SBI Capital Markets and SBI group disclosures.

SBI Life also appears separately among the listed direct NSE shareholders.

This means the SBI ecosystem has multiple layers:

  • SBI itself — direct NSE shareholder;
  • SBI Capital Markets — direct NSE shareholder and wholly owned SBI subsidiary; and
  • SBI Life — separately listed direct NSE shareholder in which SBI is the controlling shareholder.

Investors should avoid double-counting these exposures when estimating group-level value.

ICICI Bank: An Indirect NSE Proxy Through ICICI Lombard

ICICI Bank is not in the direct-shareholder table above, but it has an important indirect route through ICICI Lombard General Insurance.

ICICI Lombard held about 2.35 crore NSE shares, worth roughly ₹4,195 crore at ₹1,785 per share in the cited DRHP-based data.

ICICI Bank held about 51.26% of ICICI Lombard as of March 31, 2026, according to an ICRA rating rationale.

A simple look-through calculation using the reported approximate NSE stake produces an economic exposure of roughly half of ICICI Lombard's NSE interest.

This does not make ICICI Bank a direct NSE shareholder. It is an indirect parent-company exposure through a listed subsidiary.

HDFC Bank: Direct NSE Stake Plus HDFC Life Exposure

HDFC Bank is unusual because it appears in the direct NSE shareholder data and also owns a majority stake in another direct NSE shareholder, HDFC Life.

The DRHP-based data showed:

  • HDFC Bank: about 40.56 lakh NSE shares, worth roughly ₹724 crore at ₹1,785;
  • HDFC Life: about 1.24 crore NSE shares, worth roughly ₹2,209 crore at ₹1,785.

HDFC Bank stated in its June 2026 financial disclosures that it held 50.5% of HDFC Life, according to a HDFC Bank filing.

So HDFC Bank has both:

  • direct NSE exposure; and
  • indirect exposure through HDFC Life.

Again, this should not be double-counted when assessing consolidated group value.

Which NSE-Linked Stocks Have the Largest Notional Stake Value?

Using the ₹1,785 upper IPO price as a common benchmark, the biggest direct listed NSE shareholders in the cited data are:

RankListed shareholderApproximate NSE holding value at ₹1,785
1LIC₹47,351 crore
2SBI₹14,253 crore
3GIC Re₹7,265 crore
4New India Assurance₹6,283 crore
5ICICI Lombard₹4,195 crore
6Bank of Baroda₹3,922 crore
7HDFC Life₹2,209 crore
8Indian Bank₹1,495 crore
9SBI Life₹1,465 crore
10Tata Investment Corporation₹892.5 crore

The top five alone account for roughly ₹79,347 crore of notional NSE stake value at ₹1,785 in the cited DRHP-based calculation.

But absolute value is not enough to identify the most sensitive proxy stock.

A ₹500 crore NSE holding can matter much more to a small investment company than a ₹5,000 crore holding does to a giant insurer or bank.

How to Find the Strongest NSE Proxy, Not Just the Biggest Shareholder

Investors should compare the NSE investment with the listed company's own financial size.

Useful metrics include:

  • NSE stake value as a percentage of market capitalisation;
  • NSE stake value as a percentage of net worth;
  • proportion of the NSE holding being sold in the OFS;
  • cash proceeds expected from monetisation;
  • size of the retained NSE stake after the IPO;
  • debt and other liabilities;
  • holding-company discount;
  • taxes that could apply on monetisation; and
  • performance of the company's core operating business.

This is especially important for investment companies such as Tata Investment Corporation, Authum Investment, Kiran Vyapar, VLS Finance and other small holding or investment vehicles where one large asset can have a more noticeable effect on NAV.

Direct NSE IPO vs Buying an NSE-Linked Listed Company

These are not equivalent investments.

FactorApplying for NSE IPOBuying an NSE-linked listed company
NSE exposureDirectDirect stake inside another company or indirect via subsidiary
Pure-play NSE investmentYesNo
IPO allotment riskYesNo
Can be bought before NSE listingThrough IPO onlyExisting listed shares trade normally
OFS cash benefitNot applicable to IPO buyerOnly if company or subsidiary sells NSE shares
Other operating risksMainly NSE-specificBank, insurer, NBFC, industrial or investment-company risks
Correlation with NSE share priceLikely higherCan be weak or inconsistent
Holding-company discountNoCan be material

For an investor who specifically wants NSE exposure, the IPO is the cleaner structure.

Buying IFCI, NIACL, LIC, SBI or another NSE-linked company means buying the entire company, not a slice of NSE alone.

NSE's Underlying Business Still Matters

The proxy thesis only works if investors understand the business whose value sits underneath these stakes.

According to Financial Express, NSE's reported market share stood at approximately:

SegmentNSE market share
Equity cash market93.05%
Equity futures99.72%
Equity options68.48%

NSE remains the dominant exchange in major Indian equity-market segments, but regulation and trading volumes can affect its earnings.

Reuters reported that NSE is seeking a valuation of up to about ₹4.42 lakh crore and that the exchange is trying to diversify its revenue base beyond weekly options.

That matters because derivatives regulation has already become a major earnings variable for exchanges.

Key Risks to the NSE Proxy Trade

The biggest mistake would be to assume that NSE's listing automatically makes every shareholder stock rise.

Key risks include:

  • the value of the NSE stake may already be partly priced into the listed company's shares;
  • a proxy stock can rally before the IPO and correct after the event;
  • an OFS creates cash only for the shareholder that actually sells;
  • retained NSE shares remain subject to NSE's future market price;
  • regulatory changes can affect derivatives volumes and exchange profitability;
  • small investment companies may trade at persistent discounts to NAV;
  • indirect structures such as IFCI-SHCIL involve minority shareholders and corporate-level costs;
  • the listed proxy's core business can overwhelm any benefit from the NSE holding; and
  • investors can double-count group exposure when a parent and subsidiary both own NSE shares.

A Practical NSE Proxy Watchlist Framework

Instead of treating all NSE-linked companies equally, investors can group them into four buckets.

Large direct institutional holders

  • LIC
  • SBI
  • GIC Re
  • New India Assurance
  • ICICI Lombard
  • Bank of Baroda
  • HDFC Life
  • Indian Bank
  • SBI Life

Investment and holding-company style exposures

  • Tata Investment Corporation
  • Authum Investment & Infrastructure
  • Kiran Vyapar
  • VLS Finance
  • Winro Commercial
  • Saraswati Commercial
  • Elpro International

Industrial companies with non-core NSE investments

  • Maithan Alloys
  • Balkrishna Industries
  • Graphite India
  • GeeCee Ventures

Important indirect or layered exposures

  • IFCI → SHCIL → NSE
  • ICICI Bank → ICICI Lombard → NSE
  • SBI → SBI Capital Markets / SBI Life → NSE, in addition to SBI's own direct holding
  • HDFC Bank → HDFC Life → NSE, in addition to HDFC Bank's own direct holding

This article focuses on verifiable corporate ownership chains. It does not attempt to count every possible mutual-fund scheme, insurance fund portfolio or tiny second-order cross-holding as a separate NSE proxy.

Frequently Asked Questions

When does the NSE IPO open?

The NSE IPO is scheduled to open on September 17, 2026 and close on September 21, 2026.

What is the NSE IPO price band?

The price band is ₹1,700–₹1,785 per share.

What is the retail lot size?

The retail lot size is 8 shares, requiring ₹14,280 for one lot at the upper price band.

Is the NSE IPO a fresh issue?

No. It is a 100% Offer for Sale, so NSE will not receive fresh capital from the issue.

Which listed company owns the largest direct stake in NSE?

LIC is the largest direct shareholder in the cited pre-offer data, with approximately 10.72% of NSE.

Does IFCI directly own 4.44% of NSE?

No. SHCIL, in which IFCI owns 52.86%, held about 4.44% of NSE before the IPO.

What is IFCI's simple indirect look-through exposure to NSE?

A simple multiplication of 52.86% and 4.44% gives approximately 2.35%. This is an illustrative economic look-through percentage, not a direct legal NSE shareholding held by IFCI.

Is NIACL selling NSE shares in the IPO?

Yes. New India Assurance plans to sell 1.05 crore NSE shares, equal to about 29.83% of its NSE holding, according to its disclosed plan reported by NDTV Profit.

Is buying IFCI, NIACL, LIC or SBI the same as buying NSE?

No. These are separate listed businesses. Their NSE holdings are only one part of their overall value.

Conclusion

The NSE IPO is more than a listing of India's largest stock exchange. It is also a major price-discovery event for a network of listed companies that already own NSE shares.

For direct ownership, the largest names include LIC, SBI, GIC Re, New India Assurance, ICICI Lombard and Bank of Baroda.

For indirect exposure, IFCI is one of the most important structures to understand because its 52.86%-owned subsidiary SHCIL held about 4.44% of NSE before the offer.

At ₹1,785 per NSE share, SHCIL's approximate 11 crore pre-offer holding carries a simple gross notional value of about ₹19,635 crore. IFCI's proportional look-through to that number is about ₹10,379 crore, but that figure is not the same as cash on IFCI's balance sheet or a guaranteed increase in IFCI's market value.

The most useful question for investors is therefore not simply, "Which company owns NSE shares?"

The better question is:

How large is the NSE asset relative to the listed company's own valuation, how much is actually being monetised, how much remains after the IPO, and does the stake sit directly in the listed company or behind another corporate layer?

That framework is more useful than chasing every stock that is loosely labelled an "NSE proxy."

Sources

Risk and Disclaimer

This article is for news, educational and informational purposes only and should not be treated as investment advice, a stock recommendation or an invitation to buy or sell securities. NSE shareholdings, OFS quantities, final issue terms and post-listing valuations can change through updated disclosures. Investors should verify the latest NSE offer documents and company filings, evaluate the underlying business of each listed company, and consider consulting a SEBI-registered investment adviser before making investment decisions.